To create your free account, please enter your email address and password below. Please ensure your email is correct as you will recieve a validation email before you can login.

Email:
Nickname:
Password:
Confirm Password:
Weekly newsletter:
Daily newsletter:

To log in to your account, please enter your email address and password below:

Email:
Password:
Forgot your password?

To reset your password, please enter your email address below and we will send you a link to reset it.

Email:
Submitted by on December 18 2009 - 15:30

2000 - 2001 - 2002 - 2003 - 2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 - 2009

2008

  • Activision-Blizzard becomes biggest 3rd-party publisher.
  • Microsoft reveals Project Natal.
  • Sony unveils Motion Controller.

 


 

LittleBigPlanet
A physics based platform game – such a simple notion that could’ve been exploited years ago, and yet it took Media Molecule in 2008 to issue the brainwave. And we’re glad they did, because the developer has been supporting the game with DLC, patches, and updates consistently over the last year to build a bustling community of amateur level designers with some incredible notions. Our personal favourite: the LittleBigPlanet calculator, which uses a complex system of strings and pulleys to replace the transistors of a modern day microchip. Truly amazing.

Wii Fit

Ever since Nintendo unveiled the Wii in 2005, the legendary Japanese console maker has been consistently proving people wrong. One of its biggest servings of humble pie was the success of Wii Fit, which was met with confused faces during previews in 2007, but ultimately proved all the doubters wrong with total sales of just over 20 million units at the most recent count. With over 50 million Wii consoles in the world (as of last March), that’s one astonishing attach rate. Like most fitness products though, we fear that many of the boards are now resigned to dusty cupboards.

FIFA 09
The game that sidelined PES after seven years of hurt, FIFA 09 returned EA Sports’ series to the glory days that had eluded it since FIFA 98. Under the guidance of a newly appointed Producer, David Rutter (a native of Stevenage no less), FIFA 09 built on the momentum of previous improvements that had bought the series up to speed with Konami’s PES, while adding all-new innovations that changed the game between the rival titles considerably. Konami now plays catch-up while FIFA blazes the trail, but can EA Canada keep up this impressive pace into the next decade?

Braid
Effectively the poster-boy in a new age of independent developers, Jonathan Blow’s Braid was one of the few games that you could describe as postmodern or existential . All pretention aside though, its most winning gameplay came from its puzzles, which managed to consistently stay one step ahead of the gamer while utilising a minimal toolset of controls and features. As a game that perfectly exhibited the benefits of distributing via Xbox Live Arcade and Steam on a low budget, in an era when triple-A games cost tens of millions of pounds to develop, Braid remains the leader in a gaming revolution.

Spore

Spore pulled together gameplay tenets from the likes of Asteroids, The Sims, Populous, Civlization, and Elite. Beneath these simple homages though, was a tour de force of gaming history. It was Will Wright’s symphony; a vast collection of experience from a long career in games. As with all of his projects though, sitting above the depth and innovation was a simple game that a wide range of people, across a wide range of ages, could sit down and enjoy. Wright’s refusal to alienate any player will be one of the developer’s lasting legacies, which Spore espouses across the board.

2000 - 2001 - 2002 - 2003 - 2004 - 2005 - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 - 2009

If you wish to link to this article, here's a permalink to this page:

TVG Store - Finding you the cheapest price for:

TVG

Comment

Sign Up and Post with a Profile

Join TVG for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member. You can still post anonymously.

Log in using Facebook

Respect Other Members

Please respect other users, post wisely and avoid flaming... Terms & Conditions

 

Pages:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next
User avatar
By: Anonymous

Added:Tue 18th Sep 2012 10:39, Post No: 25

Arcade gaming has been dead a long time in my view.  You used to go because the games there were vastly better than anywhere else.  When that stopped being true, I stopped going.  The thing that's really missing from games today is the feeling of importance.  Like they don't seem to have any pride in themselves or even care that you're playing


User avatar
By: Anonymous

Added:Wed 18th Jan 2012 14:54, Post No: 24

I just read this site is being killed off !! OMG - I always read here quite a bit... 

...for anyone wanting to keep up to date with Xbox news, thisisxbox is still going strong


User avatar
By: Anonymous

Added:Fri 13th Jan 2012 23:53, Post No: 23

we didnt kill off arcade game's its you the video game reviewer's critisism's of these arcade game's short commings vs full on adventure/simulation games.

 

even in this article you describe RR on the 3DS as basicly piss poor, who the F is going to buy it now after reading what you said about it, well go figure pal its people like you who killed the arcade not us gamers.

 

Gwynne Dixon AKA the ARCADE GAME KILLER.


User avatar
By: Anonymous

Added:Fri 13th Jan 2012 23:49, Post No: 22

thanks to people like gwynne dixon many great game's have been shuned becasue they dont like them, a prime example is the saboteur, an awsome 3rd person adventure set in WWII in paris with an irish guy called sean where you seak revenge against a nazi war lord, if you can forgive the games minour missgivings such as scanty clad women who just for the record are not naked (even with the code/dlc there only topless) the rest of the game is suprisingly enjoyable and very satisfying.

 

but alas the developer just like many folded and wend into liquidation cause the majority of gamers this gen go by reviews/reviewers opinions rather than actually trying the game them selfs.

 

just for your information gwynne, activision pretty much shut bizzare creations down almost imedietly after blur was released, if activision hadnt taken over im fairly sure bizzare would still be going and developing PGR5 as that franchise of racing had served them very well in the past ever since its incarnation on the dreamcast back in 1999 (MSR Metropolis Street Racer) also as sega were re-releasing their back catalouge of DC game's as BC are no longer with us MSR will never get a HD remake which i can assure you many people wanted but will never see.


By: editor

Added:Fri 06th Jan 2012 01:53, Post No: 21

The answer your question - it may be best you go to my LINKED page (Kevin Williams - KWP)

As you can see I work in the heart of the interation Digital Out-of-Home entertainment (DOE) sector that includes amusement business. Along with this I write for a number of trade publications and publish the leading e-newsletter in the sector (The Stinger Report).

If you are interested in the trade show in the UK that will include the launch of some of the new SEHA and Bandai Namco releases for the sector - drop me an email and we can talk on how best TVG can retain our services.

 


By: freeradical

Added:Tue 03rd Jan 2012 14:56, Post No: 20

It was a tricky point to make to be honest, purely because arcade gaming has become so mixed in with different genres and platforms across the years.

My main point was to say that boxed-product arcade games on consoles - the likes of Blur or Bodycount, for example - are a dying breed. Publishers will be reluctant to invest in these kinds of games in future given how poorly they've been performing of late.

I was using the reference to arcade cabinets to point out that these kinds of console games emerged from them in the first place. Also, while I'm not denying that arcade emporiums can still turn a profit in places and do still exist, it's true that their business has been marginalised and they're not the forefrunt of new gaming that they were in years past. Quite to the contrary, usually they're old games that have been upkept or refurbished (not that I don't love playing those games still - I do).

So, amusement arcade gaming has undoubtedly receeded and now boxed-product arcade console games are doomed to a similar fate. No doubt hobbyists and fringe businesses will keep the style of gaming alive, but the mass-market mainstream appeal is as good as dead.

As I point out at the end of the article though, there are still opportunities and creative possibilities to keep arcade gaming alive on consoles. Dedicated amusement arcade enthusiasts such as yourself are evidently doing a great job keeping the culture alive too (long may it continue).

Which I suppose leads me to the obvious questions: what part of the amusement arcade industry do you work for, when is this trade show, and what's it about?

Also, respect to you for picking me up on the Trocadero closure. Shame on me for not double-checking.


By: editor

Added:Tue 03rd Jan 2012 01:32, Post No: 19

... Sorry but this 'comment' tool sucks.

One last point - your title was Game Over - Arcades Are Dead - which would be the point of your feature - and I have just proved that arcade gaming is far from deaf - and that point stands much better than yours :)


By: editor

Added:Tue 03rd Jan 2012 01:29, Post No: 18

@Freeradical, thanks for your comments - I had created a reasonable reply to the article but for some reason the 'comment' software dose not like it.

Anyway - correction, the Troc has closed and is now only hot four crane games - all the videos are about to be moved - in London there is however County Hall, and outside of London there are a number of bowling venues and cinemas with strong FEC tendancies.

I think you may not be aware of what the moder amusement industry represents - the traditional whole machine arcade us not viable, all amusement is FEC (additional) now - arcades are secondary spend to the main venue operation - and this is not small this sees over 10,000 machines in operation. 

I was in a modern Service Station recently as well as one arcade at Heathrow  and they all had videos and most were sub 2001. That said - you are right that this is not as strong as it use to be (96) - but not dead and still turning a profit!

Look we have a big amusement trade show in Feburary - would you guys like us to cover it for TVG? Email me if this is of interest.


By: freeradical

Added:Mon 02nd Jan 2012 17:13, Post No: 17

Thanks for the feedback, 'editor'. I'm aware there are still arcade venues turning a profit these days. London's Trocadero is still going strong, and you'll find plenty of arcade cabinets at any given Butlins resort - I take your point on the redesigned Weston pier as well.

These are specialised entertainment locations, however - they are some of the few remaining commercial areas where arcade cabinets continue to draw worthwhile interest in this country. It's no coincidence that they're also areas with very high levels of footfall (The Trocadero is in a tourism hot-spot, for example).

I spent a sizeable chunk of the 90s playing arcade cabinets and you'd find them everywhere from town-centre shopping malls to fast food restaurants and cinema foyers - this is no longer the case, or at least it's a lot rarer. You'd also find the newest games on these arcade cabinets with the best graphics before they were released on consoles further down the line. Where arcade cabinets do remain in this country, the offerings of new titles imported from Japan are much slimmer. Only in the very best UK amusement arcades will you find even vaguely recent titles such as Virtua Tennis 3, for example - most motorway service stations and airports harbour cabinets that were first released around a decade ago.

That was the point I was trying to make, and that point stands.


By: editor

Added:Mon 02nd Jan 2012 14:35, Post No: 16

This editorial seems to miss some of the big developments in the amusement scene and the number of new openings of venues - also the brand new Weston pier that saw bumper attendance last year. Best not to write without a little research no matter what time of year!


Pages:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next